top of page

Complexities

COMPLEXITIES, a Pantoum for Karen.

---

I told her I would write her back, Though it might not do any good. My words aren't meant as an attack: My intent may be misunderstood. Though it might not do any good I'll persist in showing love and care. My intent, maybe misunderstood, Mimics affection that's just not there. I'll persist in showing love and care To risk being labeled as a liar who Mimics affection that's just not there. I risk the moniker of lecher, too. To risk being labeled as a liar: who Does such a thing without forethought? I risk the moniker of lecher, too Fused with her past to aid her not. Does such a thing without forethought Betray lingering emotions untold? Fused with her past, to aid her not Is cowardly, unjust, and bitter cold. Betray lingering emotions untold If I dare. To act in such a way Is cowardly, unjust, and bitter cold. I cannot turn about, so I will stay. If I dare to act in such a way She'll learn I wish her the best. I cannot turn about, so I will stay. To put her mind and heart at rest. She'll learn I wish her the best. I told her I would write her back To put her mind and heart at rest. My words aren't meant as an attack.

bottom of page