top of page

Movie Notes: Wattstax

[AUTHOR'S NOTE: next in a series of brief notes on films I've recently seen. Also: SPOILER ALERT.] WATTSTAX, 1972/73 SUMMARY This is a documentary of concert footage and various personal stories revolving around the WattStax concert of 1972, in Los Angeles. Of course it includes captivating performances from now-classic R&B, soul,funk and gospel artists ranging from the Bar-Kays, Rufus Thomas, and the headliner Isaac Hayes. But also included are some unforgettable interviews with both residents of majority black neighborhoods in LA, actor Ted Lange, and comedian Richard Pryor. The result is a snapshot of the cultural landscape far beyond my personal experience, and I was happy and felt privileged to see it. MEANING OF THE TITLE Watts is the name of the neighborhood which, in 1965, was ravaged by a week of riots and street violence, sparked by a seemingly-routine police stop and arrest of a man accused of driving while intoxicated. This concert was a massive effort on the tail-end of the civil rights era, facilitated in large part by Stax Records (and Stax Films). MOST SIGNIFICANT REVELATION I thought I knew a fair amount about the black experience and struggle (being a white guy living and working most of his life for non-profit organizations in Baltimore, Maryland). But with interviews and off-stage performances ranging from Richard Pryor in his heyday, to barbershop and front-stoop interviews, to an earth-moving rendition of Amazing Grace in a storefront church... I was amazed at my own acknowledgement of just how ignorant I still am. BEST CHARACTER JOURNEY Someone is worth a mention here, although this topic is somewhat inapplicable to a documentary. Jesse Jackson. I had no idea of his involvement with this event, and am now wondering why he was considered pretty much a joke as I was growing up. His moving speech bookended the event: "I am somebody. I am a human being." His efforts were tremendous in drawing peoples' focus to the significance of the occasion. WORST TELEGRAPHED MOMENT Doesn't really apply to this documentary. However, I will say that Isaac Hayes' outfit for the occasion was a bit off. But that's just personal opinion. UNSUNG HERO Rufus Thomas. I mean, holy smokes! Dude had the crowd eating from his hand, and with his control of the mic he single-handedly prevented a potentially-disastrous outbreak of violence with his mastery of the crowd. His guiding of the attendees both onto and off of the field (which was supposed to be off-limits to the fans, as it was also used for NFL football games) was nothing short of astonishing. "Power to the people, let's go back to the stands." He was amazing. CINEMATOGRAPHY Apart from wishing I could see the performers' names more often, I was impressed. Interviews weren't laborious or overwrought. Concert footage was engaging and didn't linger too much with extreme closeups of the performers' sweaty foreheads and whatnot. WHAT'S THIS FILM ABOUT? It's a film about black folks living in the cities across the USA after the most of the civil rights era was over, the Vietnam War was pretty much done, and white America was largely ignorant of the black experience apart from news covereage of assassinations and riots. Like many of the attendees of the event, I'd describe this film as "beautiful."

bottom of page