top of page

My 40th Birthday

MY 40th BIRTHDAY

"Isaac I heart letter u"

These words and symbols are scratched into the gummy latex paint job of the picnic table I sit at in the karaoke bar. It's closely followed by "Marple," and with a sigh of relief I remember that at least my last name isn't Marple. With "a happy sadness" I acknowledge that my fan club hasn't preceded me. I happen to be one of those guys whose last name is also frequently used as a first name.

I power through "Light My Fire" by The Doors. During the musical interlude I made the mistake of filling the vocal void with an impromptu announcement that tonight is my 40th birthday. This wouldn't have been so bad on its own. However, one thing I hadn't mentioned yet is that a lady opened up the night by announcing it was -her- birthday.

So the DJ makes me drink a shot of Bacardi or something from between her legs. I must admit, it's been a while since I'd been in a place like that.

bottom of page