top of page

Window-Bound to the Season

WINDOW-BOUND TO THE SEASON

It seemed like a great career choice, at the time. "Be an astronaut." I'd have the chance to apply my gift for science, my affinity for technology. Explore strange, new worlds in that classic Gene Roddenberry way.

Not the top of the class, but one of the best. Well, best at what was required for the job. Absolutely dreadful at just so many other things. Those things were left behind, as I understood that - at this stage - nothing was more important than that brand new career of space voyager. I'd come back to things like love, family, and stamp collecting some other time.

Some seasons never come.

So, what happened to the tether, anyway? I checked it before the walk, Graves inspected it even after I did. I checked it again, just like I'd done so many times before.

Graves wanted to be out here more than me, at least before I left. I doubt he's feeling that way now, as I see him on my helmet's comm-link, moon-eyed. Audio has since given out.

Gravity from some planetary body has since taken over, and it's just as well. Better to save my battery power for the wait. I wonder what will give out first. Maybe the temperature regulator?

Something tells me it's the air recycler first.

Hey, I think I see that pale blue dot. My own window in my own little space-ship, mom. What a view...

bottom of page